Sheppard White Kachergus Demaggio & Wilson logo

Accomplished Attorneys In Jacksonville, Florida

Call for a consultation
904-356-9661

After office hours, call
904-727-7191

Open From 7:30 a.m. – 6:30 p.m.

There are three types of leaving the scene of an accident charges in Florida:

  • Damaging an unattended vehicle or property
  • Accidents involving occupied vehicles or attended property
  • Accidents causing death or personal injury

If you damage an unattended vehicle or property you are required to notify law enforcement of the accident and leave a visible note with your name, address, and vehicle registration number. Failing to do so can result in a second degree misdemeanor punishable by up to 60 days imprisonment and up to a $500 fine. Leaving the scene of an accident involving occupied vehicles or attended property can also result in a second degree misdemeanor punishable by up to 60 days imprisonment and up to a $500 fine. Leaving the scene of an accident causing personal injury can result in a third degree felony punishable by up to 5 years imprisonment and up to a $5,000 fine. Leaving the scene of an accident causing death can result in a first degree felony punishable by up to 30 years imprisonment and up to a $10,000 fine.

In addition to fines and imprisonment, penalties can include, but are not limited to, community service hours, probation, completion of a driver improvement course, points on your driver’s license, restitution to the victim, and driver’s license suspension or revocation.

Leaving the scene of an accident can impact your life in many ways and it is important to hire experienced counsel. If you left the scene of an accident, you need to contact us immediately by calling us at 904-356-9661, by emailing us at [email protected], or by visiting our website, www.sheppardwhite.com. Our after-hours phone number is 904-727-7191. Do not delay in getting the help that is rightfully yours.