A DUI Arrest Does Not Mean Conviction
Being arrested for DUI can have long-term, damaging effects on your future. Fortunately, a drunk driving arrest does not have to mean a conviction. That is because law enforcement officers make errors: the stop was illegal; the breathalyzer was not functioning correctly; the field sobriety test was administered improperly; the driver was not read his or her Miranda rights.
With decades of experience in defending DUIs, our team at Sheppard, White, Kachergus, DeMaggio, & Wilkison, P.A. Attorneys & Counselors at Law, in Jacksonville knows how to scrutinize DUI charges and find those errors. We will fight for your acquittal and fight to protect your future.
What Constitutes DUI In Florida?
In Florida, driving under the influence must be proven in one of two ways: when your blood-alcohol or breath-alcohol level reaches .08, and when there is impairment of one’s normal faculties. A license suspension can last six to 18 months, if not longer in some circumstances. A first-offense DUI is a misdemeanor. Nevertheless, the penalties for a conviction may include:
- Jail time
- License suspension and revocation
- Chemical dependency treatment
- Increased insurance rates
- Community service
- Impoundment of vehicle
- Loss of employment
It is critical to keep a clean driving record and not get that first DUI on your record because the penalties in Florida for a second DUI conviction can be nine to 12 months in jail, plus suspension of your driver’s license for five years. The government can bring felony DUI charges when:
- A person is convicted of a third DUI
- A person receives a fourth or subsequent DUI regardless of when the prior DUI convictions occurred
- A person causes death or serious bodily injury while driving under the influence
Call Us Anytime
You need the help of a skilled attorney to navigate the Florida drunk driving laws. At Sheppard, White, Kachergus, DeMaggio, & Wilkison, P.A. Attorneys & Counselors at Law, we know how to build a strong DUI defense and gain the best possible outcome. If you have been charged with DUI and need a criminal defense lawyer, call us anytime at 904-356-9661 or contact us online. Our after-hours number is 904-727-7191.